Vinnie & Twy

Bunk Bike Lane Continues!

In bitching, Bullshit Winnipeg on September 22, 2009 at 11:58 pm

mini-BikeCrashSign

Driving down King St. today, traffic was jammed so I turned off, and VOILA, the bike lane reappeared!

I put some thought into it and I think I figured out how it works. You must somehow materialize on your bike at Princess and Logan in the left hand lane. Ride merrily along for 3 blocks, then shimmy over to the right hand lane at Bannatyne and Princess so that you’ll be able to turn right on Bannatyne. Otherwise, you wind up trapped in the danger zone at Princess and McDermot. The best way I can think of to make this possible during rush hour, is to do it like that bike scene in E.T. where they all ride their bikes over the cars.

If you do make it to Bannatyne, the bike lane continues in the middle of the center driving lane and the right hand lane. When I went down there today at about 4 o’clock, there were quite a few cars either blocking the bike lane, driving in the bike lane or inching into the bike lane from their parking spots. So the message here is that you can get from Princess and Logan to Health Science Center on your bike, but be really, really careful.

  1. Bike Lanes…. Well, I’ve riden bikes in Winterpeg. There are plenty of bike routes hidden from view. For example there are parkways and slow streets where there is little vehicle traffic to harm would be cyclists. For example…. Instead of riding down Notre Dame Avenue… you could take Wellington, Alexander, even St. Matthews.

    Often everyone wants to seek equality… If 18 wheelers can travel down Notre Dame… Then Damn it…so should cyclists. However, the physics question… a Cyclist hitting a 18 wheeler, where the cyclist is travelling at 20 KM/Hr, and the 18 wheeler at 60 KM/Hr… well the answer is easy… the cyclist is dead.

    So, I opt to ride down St. Matthews when on my bike, and down Notre Dame in my large work truck…. just makes sense. And I doubt that paint on the bike lane can stop a large truck travelling at a cyclist at 60 KM/hr.

  2. Can you tell me where you got the picture of that sign? I’d like to use a similar sign (really), and may actually get departmental approval if I can document where it has been used before. thanks

Leave a Reply

